A is for Alpha-bet

I’m a day late, but here is my letter “A.”

The word alphabet comes from the first two letters of the Greek alphabet, alpha and beta.  The letter alpha itself

can signify a beginning. It’s only fitting that the alphabet began our homeschooling journey, while on a journey

of another kind.

Abc

It was late August of 2008 and we were contemplating evacuating for Hurricane Gustav.  Knowing how long

previous evacuations had kept me in the car, I wanted to prepare for a long car ride with my son and daughter

who were then almost two and one.  I packed some small toys, their blankets and a sleeping lovey each.  For

my son, I also packed an ABC book and some flashcards.  He knew a couple of letters. I think one of them was “I.”

At first, we had decided to evacuate to my brother-in-law’s house.  We decided to leave there and head to my sister’s

house in another state.  We wound up going in the opposite direction for some reason, driving all day until we found

a state that had hotel rooms.

By the time we settled down with the children in a hotel room, my son had somehow learned all the letters of the alphabet.

He spent the rest of our “vacation” spreading flashcards about various hotel rooms.  He loved letters so much that I decided

to decorate his birthday cake with the alphabet when we returned home.

My son still loves the alphabet. He makes them out of anything he can find: crayons, Mardi Gras beads, even socks.

When he started writing his letters on his own, I knew it was out of his love for the alphabet.  He has since taken on other subjects with the same fervor and enthusiasm. But it was the alphabet that started it all.

ABCs of Homeschooling

1 Comment

Filed under Homeschooling

One response to “A is for Alpha-bet

  1. Oh that’s really neat! A couple of my kids just picked it up too, and it’s so cool when that happens. It’s one less thing you need to ‘teach’ them and also makes us realize how much they will just pick up if we give them a little bit of space. 🙂 Thanks for linking up today! You’re not late at all– I’m leaving the Linky active until Monday, and then Tuesday we’ll have our B day. 🙂 Come back again!