Third Thursday Thoughts-Favorite Recipes

jillsavage.org Today, I am participating in another blog hop. This one is hosted by Jill Savage of Keeping Hearts at Home. She hosts a hop on the third Thursday of the month. This week, she is asking what everyone’s favorite homemade recipes are.  Without further ado, here is mine:

Spicy Roasted Corn

I just came up with this recipe the other day. I had frozen corn and didn’t know what to do with it. My son and husband are particular when it comes to food; but they both asked for seconds of this!



Take some frozen corn. I tend to cook without measurements most times. Thanks, Justin Wilson! Spread the corn out on a cookie sheet and drizzle a little olive oil on it. Put it in the oven at 350 degrees. You want to cook it until the corn starts to brown a little. Don’t let it brown too much, though; it will get too hard. I made that mistake the first time I made this. Crunchy!

While the corn is roasting, melt some butter in a large pan. I suggest 2-3 tablespoons.  Saute about a teaspoon of minced garlic and the equivalent of one chopped jalapeno. When the corn is done, dump it in the pan with the garlic and jalapeno. Sounds fancy, right? Add kosher salt to taste.  That is it. Very simple.

I would have taken a picture of this; but it didn’t last that long.



4 Comments

Filed under Cooking

4 responses to “Third Thursday Thoughts-Favorite Recipes

  1. I like your style.
    Fondly,
    Glenda

  2. I’m impressed that you created this yourself! I don’t venture too far away from recipes…you have inspired me to be creative!

  3. Wow! We live in Iowa, the corn “mecca” of the world :) Gotta try your marvelous idea. Thanks for sharing.

  4. bp

    Sounds easy and tasty! Thanks for sharing. I am also impressed with your creativeness! I don’t ever get creative. lol